Update: The first half of the workshop will be available via webcast for those who are unable to attend this event. If you are interested in viewing this event remotely, please contact the organizers to inform them. We will provide you with an updated email the day before the event that will give access to the webcast.


7:30am-8:30am Registration/Sign-inBreakfast
8:30am – 9:00am: Welcome:  NSF CISE/CNS Division Director, Dr. Keith Marzullo
Opening Remarks: NSF CISE Deputy Assistant Director (Dr. Suzanne Iacono).
9:00am -10:10am: General Q&A about the CAREER solicitation and program, moderated by NSF CISE/IIS Deputy Division Director, Dr. Debbie Lockhart.Attendees should have listened to the 30-minute talk on the CAREER program, which is available online on the workshop page, prior to coming to the workshop. This session should be used for questions that are not research-specific. 
10:10 am – 10:30 am: Break
10:30am – 11:45pm: Invited Speakers (CAREER Awardees)  –
Dr.Lorena A. Barba,
Dr. Huzefa Rangwala,
Dr. Jelani Nelson
Dr. Joel Sommers.Speakers will share their experiences, including tips on preparing for the CAREER award. Participants will have a chance for Q&A with the awardees during this session and throughout the workshop.
11:45am- 1:00pm: Lunch at Hilton
1:00pm 2:00pm: CISE CAREER Mock Panel  (composed of NSF Program Directors)Participants: Almadena Chtchelkanova (ACI), Phil Regalia (CCF), Thyaga Nandagopal (CNS), Darleen Fisher (CNS), Jeremy Epstein (CNS), Kevin Crowston (IIS)This mock panel will provide an overview of CISE CAREER panels including structure, discussion format and an exercise evaluating prior proposals on select aspects.
2:00pm 2:30pm: Refreshment Break
2:30pm 4:30pm: Program-specific discussions with NSF Program Directors in breakout rooms. ACI PDs: Almadena Chtchelkanova, Daniel Katz  and Rudolf Eigenmann

CCF PDs: Anindya Banerjee, Phil Regalia, Hong Jiang, Sol Greenspan, Tracy Kimbrel, Bala Kalyanasundaram,  Dmitry Maslov, Mitra Basu

CNS PDs: Thyaga Nandagopal, Darleen Fisher, Bryan Lyles, Geoffrey Brown, Mimi McClure, Weisong Shi, Jeremy Epstein, Ralph Wachter, Angelos Keromytis,  David Corman, Ted Baker, Jan Cuny

IIS PDs: Jie Yang, Christopher  Clifton, Satyandra Gupta, Tanya Korelsky, Janet Kolodner, Todd Leen, Sylvia Spengler, Maria Zemankova

4:30 pm – 4:45 pm Post-workshop Feedback and Survey
4:45pm 5:00pm: Closing Remarks: Prof. Rangwala and Prof. Shehu  (George Mason University)Dr. Mitra Basu  (NSF)